NetResults Tracker Knowledge Base Article
How to edit all "Prompt With User/State Group" transitions to require selection
Article ID  382
Article Type  Procedures / Documentation
Product  NetResults Tracker
Oldest Version  6.6.0
Newest Version  Latest Release
Publication Date  07/01/2010 11:19:51 AM
Last Updated  01/23/2017 10:13:18 AM
Warnings
Please ensure you have a backup of your workgroup database before performing these steps. If you are using NetResults Tracker Online (your data is hosted by NetResults), please refer to this article about backing up your data. If you host Tracker on your own server (the packaged version of Tracker), please refer to these instructions for backing up your data.
Description
This article provides information for using the "Edit New State and New Assignee Properties in Transitions" utility available in the Maintenance section.

Transitions can be set such that a user will be prompted to select a new state or new assignee when processing a record using the Task operation. In Versions 6.5.1 or older, the user was not forced to make a selection in these cases. This has been changed in Versions 6.6.0 and newer, such that the transition can be configured to require the user to make a conscious selection.

After upgrading to Version 6.6.0 or newer, this maintenance utility can be used to change all of the transitions where a user is prompted to select the new state or user to require a selection.

To use this utility:

  1. Make a backup of your workgroup database. If you are using NetResults Tracker Online (your data is hosted by NetResults), please refer to this article about backing up your data. If you host Tracker on your own server (the packaged version of Tracker), please refer to these instructions for backing up your data.
  2. Login as Admin and click on the Admin icon
  3. Click on the Maintenance link
  4. Click on the Edit Transition Properties button
  5. In the "Workflows" pulldown, select the workflow where you would like to make these changes. Or, select "<all workflows>" if you would like to apply these changes to all of your workflows.
  6. In the "New State" pulldown, select one of the following options:

    <No Change>
    No change will be made to the transitions where New State is set to "Prompt with State Group"

    Require Selection
    This option will change all transitions where New State is set to "Prompt with State Group" to require the user to make a selection instead of allowing the default value to be selected. The user will see "Please Select a Value" or something similar (depending on what is configured for the Required Selection of New State Prompt message) and will have to select a state in order to complete the Task operation.

    Allow Default
    This option will change all transitions where New State is set to "Prompt With State Group" to allow the default value to be selected, meaning the user will not be forced to make a selection. The default selection (the first state on the list) will be allowed to be saved as the new state for the record. Select this option if you want the transition to behave as it did before the upgrade to Version 6.6.0 or newer.

  7. In the "New Assignee" pulldown, select one of the following options:

    <No Change>
    No change will be made to the transitions where New Assignee is set to "Prompt with User Group"

    Require Selection
    This option will change all transitions where New Assignee is set to "Prompt with User Group" to require the user to make a selection instead of allowing the default value to be selected. The user will see "Please Select a Value" or something similar (depending on what is configured for the Required Selection of New Assignee Prompt message) and will have to select a user in order to complete the Task operation.

    Allow Default
    This option will change all transitions where New Assignee is set to "Prompt With User Group" to allow the default value to be selected, meaning the user will not be forced to make a selection. The default selection (the first user on the list) will be allowed to be saved as the new assignee for the record. Select this option if you want the transition to behave as it did before the upgrade to Version 6.6.0 or newer.

  8. Click OK to apply the changes, then click OK to confirm
  9. Click OK when it is finished
Workaround
None