NetResults Tracker Knowledge Base Article
If I delete a user, will the history of their actions be lost?
Article ID  486
Article Type  FAQ
Product  NetResults Tracker
Oldest Version  5.0
Newest Version  Latest Release
Publication Date  03/23/2015 10:46:02 AM
Last Updated  08/21/2018 01:58:48 PM
Warnings
None
Description

When you delete a user all of the historical information about what they did in the system (e.g. adding or modifying records) will be preserved. If the user you are deleting is assigned to any records or configured as a state manager in the workflow, you will be prompted to select another user as a replacement.

How Reports are Affected

After you delete a user, they will no longer be listed for selection in user lists (e.g. Assigned To, Reported By) on the Search, Metrics or History pages. If you need to run a report with a deleted user selected (e.g. run a History report to see all the actions performed by the deleted user), you will need to restore the user using the following steps:

  1. Login as Admin and click on the Admin icon.
  2. Click on the User Accounts link.
  3. Click on the Add User button.
  4. Click on the Add Existing Users link in the upper right.
  5. Locate the user on the list. If the user is a Restricted user, you will need to select "Restricted" in the "Available Users" pulldown at the top. If the user is not available on the list, proceed based on your installation type:

    If you are a cloud service customer (your Tracker account is hosted on NetResults' servers), contact Technical Support and let them know which user you are trying to restore.

    If you are maintain an on-premises Tracker installation, locate the user in UMS using the steps below.

  6. Click on the user to select it. If you're trying to select this user in a "User Pulldown" in a report, you'll need to add the user back into the appropriate user group in "Member of These User Groups".

    Click on the Add button. Click OK to confirm, then click OK again when prompted about restoring a previously deleted user. Click OK once more after it has been completed.

  7. If you would like to prevent this user account from being used to login to Tracker, click on the Edit button to the left of the user. Check the box for "Account Locked" and click OK.
  8. You can now run any desired reports.

Locate the user in the User Management System (UMS)

  1. Login to the User Management System.
  2. On the Home Page, enter a key word(s) to search for the user.

    If you found the user:

    1. Click on the "Edit Workgroup Access" icon to the left of the user.
    2. In the "Available Workgroups" column, click on the desired workgroup, then click on the "Add User + Access" button.
    3. Proceed to the next numbered step.
    If you did not find the user:
    1. Click on the Add icon.
    2. Enter the User ID to match the user you are trying to find. Enter a password and First or Last Name, then click on the Add User button.
    3. A warning message will say a user with that User ID has been previously deleted. Click on the Restore User button. Click OK when the confirmation message is displayed.
    4. Click on the Access icon.
    5. In the "User" pulldown, select the desired user, then click on Edit button.
    6. Locate the desired workgroup. It might be in either the left or right column:

      If it's in the right column, click on the workgroup, then click on the "Add User + Access" button.

      If it's in the left column, click on the workgrup, then click on the "Remove Access" button, then again click on the workgroup in the right column, then click on the "Add User + Access" button.

  3. The user is now available in the workgroup. Log back into the workgroup as Admin. If you would like to prevent this user account from being used to login to Tracker, click on the Admin icon, click on the User Accounts link and click on the Edit button to the left of the user. Check the box for "Account Locked" and click OK.

    If you're trying to select this user in a "User Pulldown" in a report, you'll need to add the user back into the appropriate user group, click on the Admin icon, click on the User Accounts link, click on the Groups button next to the user, click on the desired user group and click Add.

  4. You can now run any desired reports.

Workaround
None